Luke Soules Award
About The Award


The Luther (Luke) Soules III Award is presented in January of each year by the Litigation Section of the State Bar of Texas, at the Litigation Update Institute. The award is given to an attorney who embodies excellence in the practice of the law and exemplary service to the State Bar. It is designed to recognize Texas legal practitioners who demonstrate outstanding professionalism and community impact.

Luther (Luke) Soules, III, was the first recipient. Past honorees include Jim Coleman, Dicky Grigg, the Honorable Royal Furgeson, Kim Askew, George W. Bramblett Jr. and Eduardo Rodriguez Jr., Stephen L. Tatum, and David J. Beck.

Selection Criteria and Rules
The nominee should embody the following:

  • Demonstrated commitment to equal justice under law.
  • Conduct promoting the rule of law.
  • Outstanding examples of professionalism.
  • One or more significant contributions to the communityas a result of legal representation or service to the State Bar.

The nominee must be an attorney admitted to practice law in the State of Texas for a minimum of 10 years and be in good standing with the Bar.

The nominee cannot appear on a ballot in a contested race for elected office in the same year as nominated for the award.

The nominee cannot currently serve as a member of the Litigation Section Council of the State Bar of Texas.

Nomination Application Information:

The nominator should provide the following information:

  • Name, address, telephone number, and email for nominator and nominee.
  • Provide (either in curriculum vitae or in a one-page synopsis) the following information about the nominee:
    • Schools attended (degrees, honors)
    • Professional affiliations
    • Published works and legal presentation
    • Other background information
  • One-page explanation stating the reasons why the nominator believes the nominee should be selected to receive the award, again in light of the selection criteria:
    • Demonstrated commitment to equal justice under law.
    • Conduct promoting the rule of law.
    • Outstanding examples of professionalism.
    • Community impact as a result of the practice law.
    • One or more significant contributions to the community where they reside, the State of Texas, or on a national level, as a result of legal representation.

Nominations are emailed to The Person Designated By The Committee Chair. For this year’s award, it will be  Amy Prueger.

Harper Estes is the 2020 Luke Soules Award recipient. He has served as a leader in bar activities for decades. Harper is a well known litigator, mediator and arbitrator practicing at Lynch, Chappell and Alsup in Midland. Harper is a former State Bar President and former Chair of the Fellows of the State Bar Foundation. He has served locally as the President of the Midland County Bar Association. Over the years, Harper has authored and co-authored numerous articles, book reviews and opinion columns in the Texas Bar Journal and is a frequent speaker at Continuing Legal Education events. On occasion, he can be found singing with the bluegrass-gospel group, Backsliders, at retirement homes and churches.


Past Recipients:

Claude Ducloux - 2019
Jim Harrington - 2018
James L. Branton - 2017
David J. Beck - 2016 
Stephen L. Tatum – 2015
Eduardo Rodriguez – 2014
George W. Bramblett Jr. – 2013
Kim Askew – 2012
Hon. Royal Furgeson – 2011
Dicky Grigg – 2010
James E. Coleman Jr. – 2009
Luther (Luke) H. Soules III – 2008


© Copyright Litigation Section. All rights reserved.